Looking back


I’m not trying to do one of those “best of” or “top 10” posts. I’m already a couple of weeks behind the curve for that.

But, in looking back at some of the assignments I photographed this year, I did want to throw out some of the ones I thought were ones that really stood out in my mind. The one at top was absolutely probably my favorite portraits of the year. Shot for 501, this state champion duck caller had the perfect location in mind when we set up the portrait. We took off across the Arkansas River on a cold evening late in the fall and caught some beautiful light for the session. To say he was accommodating was an understatement, although he was definitely in his element and I think relished the opportunity to try out the new prop on his boat.

Made it go faster across the water. “Hey, let’s put the photographer who forgot to wear a coat in the front of the boat!” Still, an awesome shoot.

Others that stuck out were the sunset series I did with Crystal. We got some great skies and had some fun times, and I hope we can come up with something equally as memorable this year, too. Truth be told, it was just fun hanging out with her; I just got to include the camera as a bonus.

I really enjoy meeting people and traveling to new places, and my job allowed me to meet many new friends and travel to India and even dip my toes in video. I’m anxious to see what this year holds.

So, without further ado, some of my favorites from 2011.

Leave a Reply

