And now, for something completely different . . .

CODY-0074

So, I’ve known Cody’s parents for quite some time. I knew his dad was an avid deer hunter, and that his sons were following in their father’s footsteps.

And yet, they surprised me still when they told me what they wanted for Cody’s senior photos.

To be honest, I was a little bit nervous how I would be able to pull this one off. If I did it wrong, Cody’s personality wouldn’t show through. But, I still wanted to try something that I could be happy with along with the family.

We took the portraits in a wooded area near his grandparents’ home. In addition to the standard stuff, Cody wanted to re-create a photo his father had taken with his vehicle as well as his grandfather and great-grandfather. A nice touch, and one I was hoping I could pull off.

We also did some photos with his band instrument, the letter jacket and his girlfriend. Then came the time to set up the tree stand and get the shot they were after.

It was a little difficult to get Cody in place wearing a cap and gown, carrying a gun with a flag sticking out and navigating the tree stand. We kept him pretty close to the ground, relying on the lens’ perspective tricks to give the sense that he was higher than he actually was. A little lighting, and there you have it!

It was really a fun day, and I’m thinking we were able to capture Cody’s personality pretty well.

As summer rolls around, I want to remind readers that I am available for senior portraits as well as any other photography needs you might have. Check out my website, http://www.mikekempphoto.com, for contact info or to browse my portfolio.

Leave a Reply

