Missing in action

sarah-010087

 

I am still here.

 

When I launched my business almost two years ago, I wanted to use this blog as a platform to show a little bit about who I am and what I like to photograph. It’s fortunate that I can say that I’ve really been busy enough that this has been put on the back burner more often than not.

That’s not to say that I’m not busy now, or that I really don’t care about this blog. Sometimes, I’m reluctant to post for the sake of posting. There’s plenty of that online as is.

I often want to wait until I have something cool to show or something relevant to say. As a creative person, I go through ebbs and flows of satisfaction with my work and dissatisfaction with what I’m doing. That’s mostly the inner critic that I listen to way too often.

So, I go between being happy with what I’ve created and picking it apart.

Which should push me to do more photos for the fun of creating them. I recently did that with my daughter, Sarah. She’s been adding color to her hair for the past couple of years, and with the month of October, she goes with pink for breast cancer awareness.

When she recently had her hair cut and dyed, it coincided with the arrival of a new portrait lens for my Micro 4/3 system. I thought it might be time to go make something.

I’ve been fascinated with the work of Russian photographer Roman Mahkmutov and his nighttime portraits. I actually did a few for another personal shoot with a high school senior last year and was pretty pleased. We decided the evening after Sarah’s trip to the salon would be a good time to do some of her.

She did wonderfully, and I got several images that I was pleased with. I think it’s good to get a creative kick in the rear every now and then, and it makes me want to try do some more images in this style. It also makes me think that this blog might be a good place for some shorter posts with fewer images when I get something that I think is cool.

Here’s to kick starting more photography and writing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

